• Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Goodreads

The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley

Cover design by Regina Flath, illustration and lettering by Christine Larsen.

Available Now

A heartbreaking yet uplifting story about a boy who has lost everything but finds new hope drawing in the shadows of a hospital. Features a thirty-two-page graphic novel with illustrations by Christine Larsen.

Andrew Brawley was supposed to die that night, just like the rest of his family.

Now he lives in the hospital, serving food in the cafeteria, hanging out with the nurses, sleeping in a forgotten supply closet. Drew blends in to near invisibility, hiding from his past, his guilt, and those who are trying to find him. His only solace is in the world of the superhero he’s created—Patient F.

Then, one night, Rusty is wheeled into the ER, half his body burned by hateful classmates. Rusty’s agony is like a beacon for Drew, pulling them together through all their pain and grief. In Rusty, Drew sees hope, happiness, and a future for both of them. A future outside of the hospital, and away from their painful pasts.

But to save Rusty, Drew will have to confront death, and life might get worse before it gets better. And by telling the truth about who he really is, Drew risks any chance of a future…for both of them.

Praise for The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley

The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley broke my heart, then put it back together again. I truly loved this book.”
–Bruce Coville

“A wonderfully written book that is more proof that the genre of ‘LGBT YA lit’ simply knows no bounds.”
– Brent Hartinger, author of GEOGRAPHY CLUB

“The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley is as inventive as it is moving. A beautiful book.”
– Trish Doller, author of WHERE THE STARS STILL SHINE

“Hutchinson builds believable secondary characters and presents unexpectedly fresh plotting and genuine repartee—the conversations among Drew and his two teen friends feel particularly real and are full of insight and humor. Hutchinson remains an author worth watching.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Dark and frequently grim situations are lightened by realistic dialogue and genuineness of feeling. [A] heartbreaking yet ultimately hopeful work from a writer to watch.”

“In this haunting tale of grief and recovery, [Hutchinson] spins an engrossing story, with Drew’s perceptions lending it an almost surreal, supernatural quality…further developed by violent excerpts from [the included graphic novel] Patient F.”
Publishers Weekly

Awards and Honors

  • ALA Rainbow List Selection
  • Florida Book Award Gold Medal, YA
  • Bank Street Best Children’s Book of the Year Selection Title

Content Advisory

The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley contains the following:

  • Attempted Suicide
  • Suicidal Thoughts
  • Physical Abuse
  • Bullying
  • Depressive behavior
  • Violence
  • Self Harm

Where to Buy

Indie Bound.
Barnes and Noble.
Apple Books.
Simon and Schuster.